Brokedown Bus

I was sitting above the rear, driver-side tire, when it exploded.  In an entirely undramatic fashion, the bus slowed down to a stop as it pulled over to the curb.  Other than the initial bang of the tire popping, nothing else happened but a parked vehicle.

“Everyone off,” the bus driver announced as he opened the front and back doors.

I was one of the last to step out, and even once I was off I was hesitant to walk away.  I stayed next to the busted mammoth, smoking cigarettes until two tow trucks came to haul it to a mechanic.

Once it was gone, I felt better, but hadn’t realized I felt bad before.

About subparcostar

This is a collection of pieces I've done throughout the years, and continue to do throughout the hours. The format of pieces varies fairly considerably, as I am a bit eclectic in my taste. All in all, it's just a bunch of fiction.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment